Sigma Xi Annual Meeting

125th Anniversary Meeting

As I write I have just returned from the Sigma Xi Annual Meeting in Raleigh, North Carolina. This meeting celebrated the 125th anniversary of the Society, and carried the theme “The Responsible Researcher: Conscience and Collaboration.” Several plenary and breakout sessions covered the many aspects of integrity in research, echoing the foundational principle of the society — honor in professional conduct.

Of the several awards and prizes presented at the Meeting was the John C. McGovern Science and Society Award to Kathryn Sullivan, the William Proctor Prize for Scientific Achievement to Supriyo Datta, the Walston Chubb Award for Innovation to Casimer DeCusatis, and the Young Investigator Award to Teenie Matlock. All were highly deserving and appreciated by the assembled delegates.

The highlight of the Annual Meeting for me, as it always is, was serving as a judge for the student poster competition. I thoroughly enjoy encouraging these young people who have demonstrated much accomplishment already in their young lives, and show so much promise to produce ever meaningful and influential results in the sciences.

As well I had ample opportunity to visit with leaders of the Society such as President Michael Crosby, Executive Director Jerry Baker, Past Presidents Joseph Whittaker and Jim Baur, President-Elect Kelly Sullivan, and my personal close friend and mentor within Sigma Xi, Antonio Pita. I wrote more on him on a previous post, link here, as he is a candidate for President to follow Dr. Sullivan. Antonio Pita for Sigma Xi President

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *